Voting Rites

Aye, well, that’s my civic duty done for a while at least.

Obviously, I’m not going to say who I voted for but I will offer some pointers to who I didn’t vote for.

If a candidate was standing on a party ticket then they did not get my vote. Party politics have not done us any favours here in recent times and I feel that being tied to a party leads to toeing the party line rather than doing what is best for the community. Also I have little faith in any party since the last General Election saw us saddled with the train wreck that is the current coalition.

If you made the mistake of bringing religion into your election pitch then you lost my vote as well. Your religious beliefs have no place in government at any level. You’re free to believe whatever you like in private but if you let those beliefs enter public life then I have no confidence that you could represent me, or anyone else for that matter, without religious bias entering the equation.

You also didn’t get my vote if your campaign consisted of stuffing a leaflet through the letterbox and running away.

😉

3 thoughts on “Voting Rites

  1. I’m not sure what country you are voting in so my comments may be based on a context different to yours. But I would never vote for an independent. Even if they were to become elected, there vote is meaningless unless there is a hung Parliament. Party politics is the dominant force these days and when you can’t beat them join them. I think if independents were really concerned for their local communities they would join a big party they dislike the least, and then try and shift the political landscape from WITHIN a party for the benefit of their electorate.

    • Hey, thanks for commenting.

      To add a bit of clarity I’m blogging from the Western Isles in Scotland and, on the islands, the majority of candidates in the current local election are standing as independents. So party choices are thin on the ground. That said, I usually stick with a party vote locally and nationally. However the parties have not done well for us recently so it’s time for a change, or at least for a message to be sent.

      Cheers.

      • Fair enough. I’m from Australia, and our Parliament is dominated by two parties (very much like the US). The problem with our system, in my opinion, is that if you don’t like either party, there isn’t much you can do.to enact political change without them. I have always wondered why we don’t abolish party structures and just have a government of independents. I’d be interested to hear how the Scotland system works?? Because tolerance with party politics is growing thin in Australia.

Leave a Reply

