Secret Treaties

Ah, the boogie-metal-rocking majesty that is Blue Oyster Cult’s 1974 album Secret Treaties. Another of my long time favourites, featuring a cornucopia of delights to name but, well, all of them:

  1. secret_treaties_coverCareer of Evil
  2. Subhuman
  3. Dominance and Submission
  4. ME 262
  5. Cagey Cretins
  6. Harvester of Eyes
  7. Flaming Telepaths
  8. Astronomy

A truly magnificent album from which come two of my all time favourite tracks by the band. Those being the closing couplet of the set, Flaming Telepaths and Astronomy.

Well I’ve opened up my veins too many times
And the poisons in my heart and in my mind
Poisons in my bloodstream
Poisons in my pride
I’m after rebellion
I’ll settle for lies

Is it any wonder that my mind’s on fire
Imprisoned by the thought of what to do
Is it any wonder that my joke’s an iron
And the joke’s on you

Flaming Telepaths
by Albert Bouchard, Eric Bloom, Sandy Pearlman, Donald Roeser

Such disturbing and unsettling imagery is not unusual for the lyrical output of Blue Oyster Cult as much of their output is flavoured by sci-fi, horror, the arcane and other such cultic darkness. And these were all things that attracted me to their work. Like many, I first became aware of the band when I heard (Don’t Fear) The Reaper which led me to buy a copy of the live album Some Enchanted Evening – all 7 tracks of which blew me away including the superb cover versions of Kick Out The Jams (by MC5) and We Gotta Get Out Of This Place (by The Animals). But it was their own song Astronomy which sealed the deal and turned me into a committed adherent of the Blue Oyster Cult.

Clock strikes twelve and moondrops burst
Out at you from their hiding place
Like acid and oil on a madman’s face
His reason tends to fly away
Like lesser birds on the four winds
Like silver scrapes in May
And now the sands become a crust
Most of you have gone away

Astronomy
by Joe Bouchard, Albert Bouchard and Sandy Pearlman

This haunting song pushed Secret Treaties to the top of my vinyl shopping list (erm, does that sound slightly kinky?), followed by everything else they’d released up until that point in my life (i.e circa 1980). And, of course, I’ve bought everything else they’ve released since then pretty much as soon as it came out.

2 thoughts on “Secret Treaties

  1. Pingback: Secret Treaties - alex matheson creative stuff

  2. Pingback: Secret Treaties | alex matheson ~ creative stuff

Leave a Reply

