Fish-eyed Lenses

Through the fish-eyed lens of tear stained eyes
I can barely define the shape of this moment in time
And far from flying high in clear blue skies
I’m spiralling down to the hole in the ground where I hide

So wrote Roger Waters in the song The Final Cut, title track of the last Pink Floyd album to feature Waters.

Today I find myself experiencing a sort of fish-eyed view of the world thanks to my new varifocal glasses. I’ve reached that point where my distance and reading prescriptions have started to deviate. The idea of having two pairs of glasses and chopping and changing between them didn’t appeal so I opted for the ease of a single pair.

And now here I am with my new glasses on and my opticians warning that it may take a few days to get used to them is, if you’ll pardon the pun, sharply in focus. Whilst washing dishes plates that are round suddenly become oval. The edge of the table abruptly looms toward me making the tabletop look as if it’s no longer level. And things seem to swim in and out in those soft focus parts of the lens that tug at the corner of your eye.

We have such sights to show you!

Well perhaps not such sights as those Pinhead promises to reveal but I’m sure you “catch the drift” (had to get a Rush reference in there somewhere!).

🙂

PS The spectacle strangeness hasn’t been enough to stop me enjoying the highlights from Celtics 3-0 win at Easter Road yesterday. Especially that amazing third goal by Anthony Stokes!

Leave a Reply

