The Mysterious Affair At Styles

Until I recently downloaded and read The Mysterious Affair At Styles, I had never read an Agatha Christie novel. A shocking admission, I know, but there you have it.

Anyway, what to say about the experience?

Well, I have to say that I quite enjoyed it. The characters struck me as being well realised and I found myself conjouring mental images of most of them without difficulty – though my mental image of Poirot owed more to Terry Jones than either Suchet, Finney or Ustinov. The settings described by the author also sprang vividly to mind.

The story gallops along at a fair rate – at times I was actually loath to put the book (well, Kindle) down – and there are plenty of twists and turns before the great detective reveals all.  You do need to negotiate some language and expressions that are of-their-time but nothing too distracting. Language aside, if you pay attention you should be able work out whodunnit despite the various red herrings that are scattered in your way.

Overall I’d say that the book was a very enjoyable read and I can see myself reading a few more Agatha Christie tales in the future.

Leave a Reply

