Rocket Sauce

BBC article from last month about Rush still living in the limelight after 36 years in the music business.

That’s pretty good doing for a band that not many people are supposed to like.

We’ve taken care of everything
The words you hear, the songs you sing
The pictures that give pleasure to your eyes
It’s one for all and all for one
We work together, common sons
Never need to wonder how or why

It’s also a reminder for me about the passage of time.

I bought 2112 from that fine old Stornoway emporium Maciver & Dart in 1978 at the ripe old age of mutter-mumble-mutter. Since then I’ve owned all their albums on vinyl, cassette, and CD. Add to that a sizeable collection of, ahem, concert recordings stretching all the way back to 1974 obtained, in lossless format, via the interweb and it becomes clear that I must have spent a hell of a lot of time listening to Rush over the years. Not forgetting the occasions when I’ve stumbled through a halting rendition or two of the odd Rush cover on my guitar.

What can this strange device be?
When I touch it, it gives forth a sound
It’s got wires that vibrate and give music
What can this thing be that I found?

2011 will see the release of their 19th studio album, Clockwork Angels, and as I’ve mentioned elsewhere, the arrival of their Time Machine tour on UK shores.

Like the excited school boy I was when I carried that copy of 2112 home 32 years ago, I can’t wait.

Attention all Planets of the Solar Federation
Attention all Planets of the Solar Federation
Attention all Planets of the Solar Federation
We have assumed control
We have assumed control
We have assumed control

One thought on “Rocket Sauce

  1. Happy Rushday Alex. I have a good intention of a blogpost following on from this of yours…
    Hope you’re having the right kind of snow.
    Iain

Leave a Reply

