Who Watches The Watchmen?

Quite a few million people and counting I reckon.

🙂

And at last, I’m one of them!

I didn’t get a chance to go and see Watchmen in the cinema, so I was rather chuffed when I was given the Watchmen DVD for my birthday recently. It’s a long time since I read the comic book but it was impressive as hell! So, like many others, I was wondering how the movie would stack up in comparison.

Pretty damn well!

I was engrossed from the very start, totally absorbed as the story of The Comedian, Rorschach, Dr. Manhattan et al unfolded. I thought the characterisation was excellent, the effects superb and that overall the movie captured the essence of this rather gothic tale very well. A terrific movie and definitely one of the best I’ve seen in a long time.

The problem is, I’ve just noticed that there is a director’s cut version of the movie available. It has become imperative that I see that too!

3 thoughts on “Who Watches The Watchmen?

  1. I loved the comics and the movie, and have been in many a debate over them both! Some people just don’t know awesomeness even when it’s put right in front of them xD

  2. I was a bit dubious about this one but I watched it today on the strength of your recommendation.

    A darned fine film!!

    Much darker and gritier than I was expecting with some excellent black humour.

    I don’t know much about the comic book characters other than Dr. Manhatten but it was a refreshing change to see a bunch of very flawed ‘heroes’ with very human failings – especially the Comedian who came across as a real jock who just continued the jock-frat boy lifestyle into adulthood.

  3. Pat,

    I think it’s the flaws that make the Watchmen all the more watchable. It also makes them easier to relate to than the typical goodie-goodie comicbook heroes we’re all used to. They’re not like Peter Parker/Spiderman at all – they’re more like us.

    For what it’s worth I reckon Watchmen is probably film of the year for 2009.

    Cheers,
    Alex

Leave a Reply

