The Road

Cormac McCarthy’s post-apocalyptic novel The Road is quite simply brilliant. It is the moving yet disturbing tale of a father and son’s journey through a ravaged landscape; the remnant of a world riven by some unnamed disaster.

It is hard to describe it without letting slip something that might spoil the narrative, so I’ll settle for saying that it is one of the most compelling stories I have read. The pages turned relentlessly and I was never sure what the next would reveal. I was filled with exactly the fear and edginess that I imagine you would feel in the wake of a cataclysm that left the survivors struggling to survive from hour-to-hour never mind day-to-day.

If you haven’t read this one yet then do so without further delay. Buy a copy, borrow it from the local library or a friend’s bookshelf. However you do it, do yourself a great favour and read it.

You will be moved!

😀

2 thoughts on “The Road

  1. This is on my (ridiculously long) mental list to read, your recommendation moves it further up the list. I like the occasional journey through a post-apocalpytic landscape. I seem to remember that this is one of those books which reviewers deny is science fiction (or fantasy) because it’s written by a ‘proper’ author.

    Iain

  2. Iain,

    I’m sure I saw something along those lines myself not so long ago and it struck me as a bit of rather silly literary snobbery. I’m sure The Road will appear on shelves marked Literature rather than Science Fiction but I reckon it fits just as well beside Philip K. Dick’s The Man In The High Castle, or Arthur C. Clarke’s Childhood’s End just as easily as it would alongside Orwell’s 1984!

    Thanks as ever for taking the time to comment.

    Cheers,
    Alex

Leave a Reply

