On Writing

On a more serious note, the BBC News Magazine has an interesting (sort of) article about The slow death of handwriting.

Since I started using a computer (and more recently, since I learned to touch-type) I’ve used a good old-fashioned pen/pencil less and less. Earlier this week I was jotting down a few notes in connection with a problem I was solving at work and it struck me that my handwriting is not neat and is right on the border between legible and a doctor’s scribble.

Funny that I should find myself reading an article about that very phenomenon just a couple of days later.

Well, maybe not, but it seemed so at the time.

The article is worth checking out if only for the series of 5 pictures showing examples of famous handwriting – including Jimi Hendrix’s lyrics for “Machine Gun”.

Leave a Reply

