Do The Evolution

Here’s an interesting and amusing article about, ahem, The Evolution of Intelligent Design. It provides a useful timeline of key events, embroidered by the odd satirical twist.

And here’s a more involved paper about The Evolution of Religion. It is much more serious and weighty but it reads well and is short enough to read over coffee. However it provokes much thought for those whose minds are open enough to accept the sense in what it says.

Which leads me to On the Origin Of Species which I am currently reading. I borrowed a copy from my father and it has been sitting on my books-to-read shelf, calling to me each time I’ve glanced that way. So I figured I’d better get on with it, especially as the 200th anniversary of Darwin’s birth is almost upon us, not to mention the 150th anniversary of the publication of the book (the full text of which can be found on the TalkOrigins Archive – if you google around a bit you can find copies to download in various formats including PDF).

It is a very interesting read but it’s difficult to get yourself into the writing style which is very much of its time. However, I’m learning a pile of new things and making sense of a few others as a result of making the effort.

Leave a Reply

