The Dun Carloway Broch

Took a trip round the west-side of the island recently because the weather was nice and we thought it would be a good idea to let our youngest see the Dun Carloway Broch and Callanish Stones.

The broch is thought to be more than 2000 years old and still looks quite impressive despite its ruined state. I’m sure it would have looked very impressive back when it was intact and in use. Visiting it brought back childhood memories of climbing all over it and it was fun to repeat that experience again – but this time there were no angry parents telling me to get down before I broke an arm or leg. The kids seemed to enjoy climbing about the ancient monument as well, though my eldest managed to bump her head by standing up too soon after going through the (very) low doorway into the space between the broch’s outer and inner walls.

Here are a couple of pictures of the broch’s interior:

Openings from the wall into the interior of the broch

Section of stairway between the outer and inner walls

Here’s one taken from the outside:

The broch has grown a jacket of moss over the years

And finally…

I turn my best side to the camera ;-)

...I turn my best side to the camera 😉

Click any of the images above in order to see them in more detail.

4 thoughts on “The Dun Carloway Broch

  1. and finally you turned your best side to the camera… so that would be the Butt of Lewis then 😉

    Great pic’s and a grand building, something I’d like to see one day. There is a broch down this way on the Mull of Galloway. It’s very rare for one to be this far south, (in fact the only one)they are all to the north up your way. Unfortunately the one here just looks like a small pile of stones.

  2. Nice one, Mirk. I almost spilled my coffee when I read that comment. Wish I’d thought of that line myself!

    Cheers,
    Alex

  3. Pingback: The Callanish Stones « A View From The West

  4. Enjoyed the photos. My husband and I were on Lewis last year just a few days ahead of your visit. Dun Carloway and the Calanais Stones were the primary reason for our journey to Lewis. I took literally hundreds of photos–and it was never enough. The landscape is surreal, and its monuments are inspirational and haunting. It is a place never to be forgotten.

Leave a Reply

