Fallen Heroes

Looking round the news pages today the following articles all struck a chord:

For a time Gascoigne set the football world alight both on and off the pitch. Even though I remember making fun of his tears over England’s failures in various competitions, I was always impressed by his ability and vision when he had a football at his feet. That goal against Scotland is a particular source of both wonder and outrage!

Gretna impressed everyone who follows Scottish football with their meteoric rise through the ranks to the SPL. It is a real shame that their fall from that height has proven to be even more rapid.

Although I was never a great fan of Bo Diddley’s own recordings, I was always impressed when I saw him playing along with other artists that I am a fan of – many of whom mention Diddley as an influence. There is no doubt that he was one of the guitar greats. Perhaps I shall revisit some of his pretty vast body of work to see if my own feelings change.

Leave a Reply

