The Future Is Unwritten

Moving on to much more important matters…

I watched Joe Strummer: The Future Is Unwritten on Sunday evening. It’s an excellent movie which is both entertaining and informative, covering the life of John Graham Mellor from birth to death. There’s some very interesting footage of Joe Strummer’s friends and associates discussing his life and his impact on their lives and I learned lots of stuff that I never new, despite having been a fan of The Clash since way back when I was a boy (London Calling is one of my all time favourite albums).

If you have even a passing interest in the history of punk, you should watch this movie as The Clash were one of the first wave of punk bands and Joe Strummer was one of the genres most articulate and charismatic front men. I’ve been meaning to check out more of his post-Clash work but there’s always been something else I was more interested in musically. After watching the movie, I feel compelled to check out his work with The Mescaleros of which there is some footage in the movie.

Leave a Reply

