Hotel California?

I was recently invited to join Facebook (no link for you I’m afraid) by my sister. It seemed like a good idea at the time so I signed up.

I’ve since found that I don’t like it and that it doesn’t really offer anything of substance. It is just another bucket into which you can piss away time better spent doing other things. As if that isn’t enough, a lot of very negative press (such as that found here and here) has been appearing about the way in which Facebook use your personal information and about how they don’t delete that information when you deactivate your account but retain it in case you want to return.

This prompted me to further investigate the process of deleting a Facebook account. The experiences of Steven Mansour and Alan Burlison show that leaving Facebook is anything but easy. In short, you can’t actually leave without leaping through a ridiculous number of flaming hoops. One comment stated that it was all too like the Hotel California, where “you can check out any time you like but you can never leave.” Unfortunately I can’t locate that comment again to provide a link.

Something that I did find was an article on How To Permanently Delete A Facebook Account. Though on further reflection following this advice will still leave you with an account, albeit an empty one.

As a result of all this, I have decided that Facebook is not for me. I have now deactivated my account but only after first removing all information and other connections to my account (not that there was much to remove). I also placed a request when deactivating that they remove my account completely. I don’t imagine they’ll do that so I’ll check back in a day or two and see if I can still access their site using my old details. If I can, I’ll follow the reactivation process and beat them soundly with a virtual stick until they get their act together and remove my details altogether.

šŸ˜¦

One thought on “Hotel California?

  1. Pingback: Bad Karma « A View From The West

Leave a Reply

