Red Tape Nation

I recently acquired a nice new, shiny, photo card UK drivers licence to replace my very tattered paper licence. By doing this you get a handy, credit card-sized, licence which fits snuggly in your wallet and displays your picture, name, address, driving licence number, and signature. You would think that such a card along with a passport, bank statement confirming your address and valid credit card would be enough to allow you to hire a car.

Think again. When I used this combination to hire a car, I was told I couldn’t has I had not brought the paper counterfoil that you are sent along with your nice new, shiny, photo card UK drivers licence. Apparently, your nice new, shiny, photo card UK drivers licence is not a properly valid licence unless you can produce this counterfoil. What, I ask, is the f***ing point of replacing one document with two so that you have to carry both in order to prove you are a qualified driver? Wonder what would happen if I asked for my very tattered paper licence back.

Leave a Reply

